Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


No, I don't want to merge, ever.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
daninthemix
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 29 Jul 2013
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2024 12:48 pm    Post subject: No, I don't want to merge, ever. Reply with quote

And yes, I always want to keep the current address list / code list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Csimbi
I post too much
Reputation: 97

Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 3262

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2024 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was there was an option for it, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LeFiXER
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 20

Joined: 02 Sep 2011
Posts: 1065
Location: 0x90

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2024 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is the option to disable that in version 7.5.2 under general settings:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 467

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25620
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is about loading a table, not opening a process

To do what you wish put this in your ce autorun folder:
Code:

MainForm.actOpen.OnExecute=function()
  if MainForm.OpenDialog1.execute() then
    loadTable(MainForm.OpenDialog1.FileName)
  end
end

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Csimbi
I post too much
Reputation: 97

Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 3262

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dark Byte wrote:

To do what you wish put this in your ce autorun folder:

Thanks DB, but this forces opening the existing table, does it not?

The point is, I don't ever want to be asked when I have a table open and I don't want to a load an existing table, either. (force "never merge")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AylinCE
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 34

Joined: 16 Feb 2017
Posts: 1448

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Csimbi wrote:

The point is, I don't ever want to be asked when I have a table open and I don't want to a load an existing table, either. (force "never merge")


I couldn't understand this.

Adding to an existing, open table.
Or to open the selected table in a separate CE window.

Which one?

_________________
Hi Hitler Different Trainer forms for you!
https://forum.cheatengine.org/viewtopic.php?t=619279
Enthusiastic people: Always one step ahead
Do not underestimate me Master: You were a beginner in the past
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Csimbi
I post too much
Reputation: 97

Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 3262

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AylinCE wrote:

I couldn't understand this.


This is how CE works today:
1. CE is running and you have a table loaded.
2. You open another table (or the same): File->Open.
3. CE prompts you whether you want to merge.

This is the issue: having to click no a 1000th time is becoming annoying.
I don't think anyone merges tables these days as you can copy-paste stuff from one table to another, which I believe to be a far more convenient and elegant solution.
As such, this feature should be either removed (not preferred as someone might need it), or (preferred) there should be an option that makes step 3 null and void, no questions asked, just open the selected file without saving the current one.

From what I gathered, the OP is the opposite of what I described: he does not want to merge and wants to keep the existing (as if he never clicked open). Probably he selects the wrong file accidentally? No idea.

So, there should be an option to:
[x] Do not ask to merge on open (checkbox) and
[Always merge without asking/Always open file dropping existing/Always keep existing (do not open)] (dropdown)
I believe that would serve all purposes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 467

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25620
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The script I posted removes the prompt for merge
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
LeFiXER
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 20

Joined: 02 Sep 2011
Posts: 1065
Location: 0x90

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This seems to be an adequate solution. CE's Lua provides a function to load a table without merging so therefore we override the original load load function with the Lua function and always pass false for the merge parameter.


loadWithoutMerge.lua
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  loadWithoutMerge.lua
 Filesize:  314 Bytes
 Downloaded:  166 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AylinCE
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 34

Joined: 16 Feb 2017
Posts: 1448

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2024 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I'm misunderstanding some facts.

1) Join: Existing (open) table + selected table are merged. (Address list, lua script, etc.)

2) Change: The current (open) table is closed and the selected table is opened instead.

3) Two tables are open: The current table remains open and the selected table opens next to it in the new DT window.

There are examples for rules 2 and 3, if we can get a sample code from @DarkByte for rule 1, we can make an optional menu for rule 3.

So the rule selection remains fixed and the same as your selection until you change it.

_________________
Hi Hitler Different Trainer forms for you!
https://forum.cheatengine.org/viewtopic.php?t=619279
Enthusiastic people: Always one step ahead
Do not underestimate me Master: You were a beginner in the past
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 467

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25620
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2024 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when you open a process it asks if you wish to clear the addresslist, and if you say yes, it checks if there is a table with the new process name, and if so ask if you wish to load this

when you load a table it'll check if the address list is empty and if not, asks if you wish to merge

the merge question will never show during a process selection as the addresslist is either empty, or you choose no to the clear table request

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
AylinCE
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 34

Joined: 16 Feb 2017
Posts: 1448

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2024 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dark Byte wrote:
when you open a process it asks if you wish to clear the addresslist, and if you say yes, it checks if there is a table with the new process name, and if so ask if you wish to load this

when you load a table it'll check if the address list is empty and if not, asks if you wish to merge

the merge question will never show during a process selection as the addresslist is either empty, or you choose no to the clear table request


Only for "Load File" or "loadtable";

Is there an example of code that adds the address list to the existing list (and loads the Lua script into a new tab, if applicable)?
Is it possible for us to get a sample?

It's quite incomplete in my mind.
Reading the address list of the table to be loaded, selecting all, copying and pasting into the existing list.
Likewise, copying the lua script if available, opening a new lua tab in the existing table and pasting it there, etc.
Unfortunately, I do not know the functions of many of the controls here.

If you don't think it's too unnecessary, is it possible for us to take a sample?

_________________
Hi Hitler Different Trainer forms for you!
https://forum.cheatengine.org/viewtopic.php?t=619279
Enthusiastic people: Always one step ahead
Do not underestimate me Master: You were a beginner in the past
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 467

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25620
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2024 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

loadTable with merge true.

But you can always use libxml and parse the table and read out the entries and scripts by yourself

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites