Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


help with the trainer to attach a process (not auto attach)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine Lua Scripting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
doahuang
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 2:17 am    Post subject: help with the trainer to attach a process (not auto attach) Reply with quote

Hi dark byte and others, is it possible to code in Lua that allows a trainer to pop up a process window (like CE) and choose a certain one to attach to?

a recent problem about attaching to the right "Chrome" process.

thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 457

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25262
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, there is currently no processlist/windowlist implemented.

Anyhow, the openProcess function call lets you specify the processID of the target process. So you can give the user an editbox and let him type in the pid. (or perhaps you can fetch it another way, like a shell command doing a tasklist...)

Also, if you give the name of the process it will always pick the process at the bottom of the list (newest, same as autoattach)

If your intention is to show a list to the user and assume the user knows which one to pick, you're wrong. Users 'never' know which particular process to pick if all 3 have the same name

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
atom0s
Moderator
Reputation: 198

Joined: 25 Jan 2006
Posts: 8516
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lua itself also does not expose any way to obtain information about running processes. The most you could do is force Lua to run a command line app that prints out a clean list of processes and use that, but there is no built in way to list the running processes.

Unless DB decides to expose more functions to handle listing them in CE.

_________________
- Retired.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hack0535
Cheater
Reputation: 2

Joined: 16 Oct 2011
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just use

openProcess( "abc.exe" )

if you want attach to the running process
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine Lua Scripting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites