View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Dark Byte Site Admin
Reputation: 468
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 25706 Location: The netherlands
|
Posted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 7:50 am Post subject: Find out what addresses are accesed by a piece of code |
|
|
Sometimes when you've found a address and the code to change that address is also used to change other addresses (like that of the enemy) the following function will be usefull:
When you've found the code that accesses the address you've found you can save that and use it to find the address you are looking for, so you don't have to go through the slow scanning routine again. (unless of course scanning for it is a lot faster than this, like finding a piece of text and then recalculating the rest)
Go to the advanced window, rightclick the code and choose "Find out what addresses this code writes to" (or reads from depending on what kind of code it is, and can sometimes be a write instead of a read but that doesn't matter) and play the game. after a while the list will be filled up with all the addresses that that code used. (enemy's energy including if it is also used to handle the enemy)
Only downside is that this (currently) only works for instructions that have a [...] part. So instructions like "rep movsb" won't work, but that is a instruction thats useless to cheating anyhow)
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kantoboy How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0
Joined: 26 Sep 2004 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 3:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hello DarkByte
I've notice in Master of Orion 3 the data is being move using movsb and movsd first before being manipulated (e.g. decrease value of au, etc)
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Doppelwarrior19 Cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 02 Jul 2005 Posts: 26 Location: Riverside Central Guisad
|
Posted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 4:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
I understand the code but can you gave an example in a specific game ;
to your statement Sometimes when you've found a address and the code to change that address is also used to change other addresses (like that of the enemy) the following function will be usefull: ........
So I can understand it carefully !!
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Dark Byte Site Admin
Reputation: 468
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 25706 Location: The netherlands
|
Posted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 5:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Lets say you know the code that decreases health, but finding the address of your health always takes hours to find (e.g slow comp, or you're just lazy to scan in the first place)
you can then use the option in the code list to find what addresses this code accesses.
The addresses it returns will be the health address of everything that gets hurt. including you. so you only need to take a little damage, and your health address will be shown there. it's fast and simple
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Davethewave Expert Cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 210
|
Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This is good info, I do this all the time even when I'm not feeling lazy also you might note that the window might fill up with all the enemies health too, sometimes I click the code and say find out what this code writes to, then I go into the game and sit there for a second without getting injured so that my health address is easier to find at the bottom of the list.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AwAiS Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 08 Sep 2005 Posts: 13 Location: NY
|
Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 2:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code accessing can be accompanied by breakpoints, in order to figure out what truly is being "touched."
_________________
Wee. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Davethewave Expert Cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 210
|
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 7:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
in response to kantoboy about Moo3, I can't get CE to work with Moo3... for example, I wanted to increase the space I have in my ship to mount more weapons but I can't find the value of my ship space available or used in any of the byte modes, double or float. It's like it doesn't exist, I even tried using unknown value. how they do that?
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tenemet Cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 24 Dec 2005 Posts: 38
|
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 9:53 pm Post subject: Re: Find out what addresses are accesed by a piece of code |
|
|
Dark Byte wrote: | Go to the advanced window, rightclick the code and choose "Find out what addresses this code writes to" (or reads from depending on what kind of code it is, and can sometimes be a write instead of a read but that doesn't matter) and play the game. after a while the list will be filled up with all the addresses that that code used. (enemy's energy including if it is also used to handle the enemy)
|
First, I'd like to apologize for bumping an old post, but this thread is relevant to my question. I'm trying to find out what addresses a piece of code writes to, but I cannot use the method described by Dark Byte. I am forced to use the kernel debugger only, because the default debugger gets detected (by GameGuard). Thus, when I use the "Find out what addresses this code writes to" from the menu, it asks if I want to attach the default debugger. If I allow it, the game shuts down.
I'm wondering if there are any other ways to do this. Is it possible to do it somehow using the kernel debugger or by some other method? Will the kernel debugger ever be updated/improved to handle this sort of thing? Any help or suggestions on this would be greatly appriciated. Thanks in advance.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|