Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Confused about enabling DBVM

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bennnie
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2021 8:56 am    Post subject: Confused about enabling DBVM Reply with quote

I try to use DBVM, but I have trouble enabling it properly. It looks like I can turn it on but I might not understand how it is supposed to work or it's a bug.

Here is the situation. I start CE. I right click the CE logo and get the 'About Cheat Engine' window. At the bottom it says 'Your system does not support DBVM. Perhaps it is already in a VM.' When I click the text 'DBK64 loaded' appears flashing in the top left of the screen. I also receive the error 'Your cpu must be able to run DBVM to use this function.'. After clicking ok, the 'Kernel tools' tab in the memory viewer becomes available and I can use for example the Drivers list. The list that appears is populated. So it showed errors, but looked like it was kind of working? Now the 'Use kernelmode debugger (requires DBVM)' option in Debugger options remains unavailable.

I have a 8600K and 'Intel virtualization Tech' and 'Intel VT-D Tech' are enable in the BIOS. Running Cheat Engine 7.3

Am I doing something wrong? Does anyone have suggestions how I could enable the kernelmode debugger?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25288
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2021 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you didn't load dbvm, you just loaded dbk

You're already inside a virtual machine. Likely your anti virus is running your system within an VM, or you have core protection enabled in windows. Disable hyper-V and core protection if possible

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Bennnie
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2021 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the quick answer.

I am not using anti-virus software other then Windows defender. I disabled some extra protection in Windows defender but it didn't solve it. Core protection is disabled an hyper-v isn't enabled. Just updated my BIOS but no change.

I am getting kind of scared here since I cant explain why CE thinks i'm inside a vm. It could be a virus, right? Perhaps time for a fresh install of Windows? Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25288
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2021 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try this lua code in the lua engine window:
Code:

if (CPUID(1).ecx & (1 << 31)) ~= 0 then
  print("You are inside a known virtual machine. There should be an option to turn it of somewhere")
else
  print("'IF' you are inside a VM, it's hiding itself from you")
end

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Bennnie
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2021 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't execute the code you suggested, I receive the error:

Quote:
Error:[string "
..."]:2: attempt to call a nil value (global 'CPUID')
Script Error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25288
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2021 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry, had a different extension loaded try
Code:

if (cpuid(1).ECX & (1 << 31)) ~= 0 then
  print("You are inside a known virtual machine. There should be an option to turn it of somewhere")
else
  print("'IF' you are inside a VM, it's hiding itself from you")
end

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Bennnie
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2021 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The result is 'You are inside a known virtual machine'. And, I found the fix! Even though I disabled Hyper-V in windows features and I tripple checked no Hyper-V services were running, I had to run
Quote:
bcdedit /set hypervisorlaunchtype off
in cmd to properly disable hyper-v and get the option to enable DBVM in CE.

Thanks a lot! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HieiYYH
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Aug 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2023 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dark Byte wrote:
sorry, had a different extension loaded try
Code:

if (cpuid(1).ECX & (1 << 31)) ~= 0 then
  print("You are inside a known virtual machine. There should be an option to turn it of somewhere")
else
  print("'IF' you are inside a VM, it's hiding itself from you")
end


sorry to bring an old topic but i'm having issues with windows 11 here... using your code i get

"You are inside a known virtual machine. There should be an option to turn it of somewhere"

all HyperV options are disabled, also did the cmd command the friend up there used and it said it turned off.
I used to enabled DBVM back when using windows10 without problems but now it says my CPU is not supported or i'm already in a VM state... so, how can i turn off and which app does that?

ps: using windows 11 enterprise here, if that changes anything.


Last edited by HieiYYH on Sun Mar 26, 2023 4:28 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25288
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2023 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

core isolation is disabled ?
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
HieiYYH
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Aug 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2023 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dark Byte wrote:
core isolation is disabled ?


it says it's turned off but when entering the option it shows Memory integrity is ON, does that change something?


also run this script that i found in other page

Code:

local r=cpuid(0)
local s1=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EBX))
local s2=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EDX))
local s3=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.ECX))
print(s1..s2..s3)


if (r.EBX~=0x756e6547) or (r.EDX~=0x49656e69) or (r.ECX~=0x6c65746e) then
  print("This is NOT an Intel CPU")

else
  print("This is an Intel CPU")
  local r=cpuid(0x80000002)
  local s1=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EAX))
  local s2=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EBX))
  local s3=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.ECX))
  local s4=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EDX))

  r=cpuid(0x80000003)
  local s5=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EAX))
  local s6=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EBX))
  local s7=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.ECX))
  local s8=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EDX))

  r=cpuid(0x80000004)
  local s9=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EAX))
  local s10=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EBX))
  local s11=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.ECX))
  local s12=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EDX))
  print(s1..s2..s3..s4..s5..s6..s7..s8..s9..s10..s11..s12);


  local r=cpuid(1)
  print(string.format("cpuid(1):\nEAX=%.8x\nEBX=%.8x\nECX=%.8x\nEDX=%.8x",r.EAX, r.EBX, r.ECX,r.EDX))

  if (r.ECX and (1 << 5))~=0 then
    print("Your system supports DBVM")
  else
    print("Your CPU does not support DBVM")
  end
end


and it returned "Your system supports DBVM"

so i'm really confused here.



EDIT: disabling memory integrity thing resolved the problem... thank you for the heads up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites